Posted in Books

Throne of Glass Review and Guest Post

I originally wrote this review as a guest post for Mary to use as she has fun traveling the world and all that good stuff. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, you really need to. It’s wonderful and so is Mary. Anyways, here’s my long-overdue review of the Throne of Glass series.

Right before classes started, I began reading this YA fantasy series I discovered on tumblr: Throne of Glass. Boy, oh boy. Here’s the Goodreads description for the first novel:

In a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world. (Goodreads)

Celeana is amazing. I love me a strong, fierce, and complex female character. Her back story and character development throughout the series (as published so far) is so enjoyable to read, though at times it can be hard, especially when a character is gravely injured.

This series also has a fair amount of intrigue and mystery. Why is the magic gone? How did the king get so powerful? How did Celeana become such a skilled assassin at such a young age? How did she get caught? Unfolding these plot points and many more that I can’t share without giving spoilers keeps me turning the pages faster than I could get the books. (I had to wait weeks before I could get my hands on the fourth book thanks to a library wait list that I eventually decided to bypass by buying the book.)

I also really appreciate the female friendships in this series. Often female-female friendships are ignored in the media, but there are several same gendered relationships. And guess what? They don’t revolve around a man!

Another aspect of the books that some people may not enjoy but is honestly a big factor for me when I read YA books is ships. Never in my reading history have I switched ships so many times in a series (though I think the one I ended with is a keeper). I went from Dorian to Chaol to no one to Rowan. Ahh Rowan. (You don’t meet him until the third book.)

Anyways, I feel that this series has a lot to offer and to a wide range of readers as well. There’s definitely action (I mean, how can you have a series about an assassin without action?), fantasy, character development, and romance (though don’t worry, I wouldn’t say these are primarily romance novels). It was a nice break from my school books and critical essays.

3 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Review and Guest Post

    1. If someone new is introduced though, I don’t know if I can take it. I’m just such a sucker for Rowan and the cliche ice and fire pairing. I cannot wait for the next book!

Leave a Reply

