Posted in Books

Crazy Love

Click image for source.

Crazy Love by Francis Chan is really my first venture into Christian books. It was recommended to me last May while I was at a Christian camp/retreat for college students. I bought it right away, but didn’t really start reading it until early on in this last fall semester. Taking my time, I really only read about a chapter at a time and infrequently–partly so I could allow Chan’s points to soak in and partly because I let myself get distracted from my pursuit of spiritual growth for a while.

As far as the book itself, I would say that I did enjoy it. Chan separates his book out well into themed chapters that are all very applicable in addressing aspects of Christian life. It focuses mainly on the love that Christians are called to feel for God yet the overwhelming trend of Christians who don’t seem to show or feel that love deeply. We are all falling short in some way or another (thank God for grace, eh?). Crazy Love examines many of the common ways that we are falling short and gives suggestions as to how to improve. As the back of the book says, “God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself.” Chan simply wants to help us hear and answer that call.

As you may or may not know, I’ve been struggling with my faith for a while now. Honestly, I’ve been hiding it for a long time and then hiding behind my struggles. I’ve used my questions and doubts as reasons to try and hide from God and from avoiding seeking answers in the one place I should–the Bible. This book helped me realize that I am not currently in love with God. I don’t hate him, but I am not passionately in love with him. I think this fact is the core of many of my struggles.

I’ve been talking about it with several people who are farther along in their walks with Christ than I am, and they have been very encouraging. In order to grow and to allow myself to fall in love with God, I needed to realize that I wasn’t. Since this realization a few months back (I really did take my time reading this), I have grown. I’m still working on it, but I’m starting to trust that God has the answers to my questions and understands where my doubts are coming from. I’m changing the way I question which is proving much more fruitful in answers.

In short, I would recommend this book as their is a lot of spiritual yummy (not my term, but used in my campus ministry a bit) in it. I do plan on rereading in in a few years as I think it will be able to help me grow even more later on.

4 thoughts on “Crazy Love

  1. Hi Faith. I pray the New Year will allow you to find the answers you seek in regards to your faith. I have undergone a radical transformation when it comes to understanding God and Christianity over the past two years myself. May I recommend some authors; Dr. Jonathan Welton, Harold Eberle and Joe McIntyre have been instrumental in my quest for greater truth. Blessings to you….

    http://www.raptureless.com

  2. I read this book back in my freshman year of college and it really helped me start making my faith my own. I’ve heard Chan speak live and he is really encouraging. I wish you all the best in your spiritual journey!

    1. I would love to hear him speak live! Thank you for the encouragement in my spiritual pursuit. It’s definitely a journey that I’ve only really just started.

Leave a Reply

