Posted in Other

This is about to get personal. Period.

Just so we’re all clear here, I’m going to start talking about my period. I personally am very comfortable talking about it, but I know that many others get uncomfortable when anything regarding menstruation comes up. So, you’ve been warned. Proceed at your own discretion. 

Lately I’ve been really concerned with being more environmentally friendly and I’ve found that one simple life change made by one menstruating female can actually make a world of a difference. What is this change? Switching from disposable pads and tampons to reusable ones such as cloth pads and menstrual cups.

Now there’s a lot to go into on this topic and I’ve kind of been obsessively researching it lately, but right now I only want to talk about one aspect of it: the overwhelming array of options.

I’m not gonna lie, there’s a lot of option for disposables too, but it cannot compare to the massive selection of reusables. Cloth pads alone come in all different shapes, sizes, fabrics, colors, and patterns. Do you want cotton, flannel, minky, or bamboo fabric? What do you want the absorbency to be? The shape? The size? Home made or manufactured? Is your head spinning yet? Because mine is.

To make things even more complicated, the FDA has ruled cloth pads as medical devices or something like that and is becoming much more strict on sellers. Anyone who sells them has to pay over $3,000 a year to be registered with the FDA. As many of these pads are made by small companies or individuals (often through sites like etsy), that means that a lot of people have to stop selling. They simply don’t make enough money to justify paying the fee, so they are going to have to end up closing down. (There is a petition found here to reduce or eliminate the the fee. If you’re interested, check it out.)

But anyways, back to the crazy amount of options…There’s just so much to pick from! I don’t know where to start! I’ve ordered the free sample from Party in my Pants and have been looking at various etsy shops, but really I know that I’m just going to have to buy some and try them out to know what I want.

If you happen to use cloth pads and have any that you particularly like or any tips, PLEASE send me some info. I’m eternally indecisive so having someone’s word for a specific place to buy from means a lot to me.

I’m sure I’ll be talking about this more soon, so either look out for it or avoid it like the plague. I personally think you should look out for it, because I think we need to stop being so afraid to talk about stuff like menstruation. It’s completely normal and healthy, not something to be ashamed of.

5 thoughts on “This is about to get personal. Period.

  1. I’ve looked into the cups but they kind of freak me out. It interests me because not only would it help the environment but the bank account! Pads and tampons are sooo expensive. The sanitation and such kinda just freaks me out with anything reusable to be honest. Now that I’ve heard of these I’m going to look into them and see what I think. I’m not sure though it sucks being a girl sometimes!

    1. I say try it. I am going to write more about it once I’ve used it for another month or so, but once I got the hang if it, I actually liked it. As far as cleanlieness, I have a special soap and i also boil it. I don’t have any cloth pads yet, but I plan in ordering some before my next period to try out. There’s also a ton if good youtubers with lots of great info on the subject.

      1. I’ll have to look into it more, it’s very interesting. I might try the sample, but I also worry that it’s one of those things that might sit in my underwear drawer waiting to be used haha. It’s very different but it’s a good idea.

Leave a Reply

