Posted in Other

Lammily Dolls: The “Normal Barbie”

I don’t know if you guys have heard about the new Lammily doll, but I find it fascinating. Basically, Lammily is a fashion doll. Unlike all of the other fashion dolls on the market, Lammily is created with realistic body proportions. She was created using the CDC’s information on the average body measurements for a nineteen year old girl and sized down to doll size. Here’s what she looks like-

Click image for source or to go to the doll’s info.

If the fact that her body is actually physically possible for most girls to obtain or at least get near to wasn’t enough, you can also add on stickers of cellulite, stretch marks, scars, and tattoos. Things that most people see as unattractive can be added to a fashion doll. I think this is groundbreaking. I mean come on! A doll that has stretch marks? I’m all for that.

Click image for source or to check them out for yourself.

And like any other fashion doll out there, she of course has her own fashion line. It’s centered around what Lammily would wear if she were traveling the world. My personal favorite is the Scotland Adventures outfit. There aren’t too many outfits yet, which I think is perfectly understandable as the company is just starting up. The outfits are also a tad pricey. The one I like is $25. It’s not too bad, but it’s not exactly cheap either. I also understand that the cost is most likely due to the fact that the clothes are really small and sewing stuff that small is hard (trust me, I know).

Click image for source.

So, I think you can tell, I’m very intrigued by this doll. A lot of other people are too. They say this is a big step. Many believe that this will help young girls’ self esteem and promote a healthier body image than dolls like Barbie do. I definitely agree that this is huge for the toy industry. I believe this doll is good.

I do however have a problem with how some people are talking about the doll. People are calling her the “normal Barbie”. I don’t like this. There are many definitions of normal. By calling this one body type normal, it insinuates that anything different from it is abnormal-aka bad. I think that’s just as harmful to a girl’s body image as not having a doll that is closer to reality in the first place. She shouldn’t be called normal Barbie. If she must be compared to Barbie at all, call her “average Barbie”. (Some people are calling her this, and I get happy when I see it.) Personally, my body is not exactly like Lammily’s, but I would still say my body is normal, it just doesn’t look like Lammily’s. That’s okay.

Now, I think body image and self-esteem are very complex issues, and therefore don’t feel that one doll alone is enough to defeat them. I personally had both Barbies galore and low self-esteem. Were they connected? I’m not so sure. I feel like the dolls our children play with are more of a reflection of our society’s values than a bringer of values (though it does get to be a bit of a cyclical thing). I will say however, that having dolls that portray a larger range of bodies would have been appreciated when I was a kid and I don’t think it can possible hurt the push for healthier body images as long as people react properly to this doll.

Obviously there is a lot more going on in the world that contributes to the serious problem of negative and unhealthy body images that are so prevalent among our society, and one step in the right direction is not a complete victory.  It is however progress. Hopefully if enough people get talking about Lammily and the issues that inspired her creation, more small steps can be taken and an eventual big change can take place.

Thankfully, I haven’t actually seen the company call Lammily normal, only average. I am proud of them. In fact, I plan on buying a Lammily doll to support them even if I am a bit too old for dolls. I’m curious and I want to see one in person, so why not? Once I have it, I’ll do another post about my impressions of the doll itself rather than just what I’ve seen/heard/read about the doll.

For more info on the doll, go visit the website.

So what do you think? How do you feel about Lammily or the buzz around her?

3 thoughts on “Lammily Dolls: The “Normal Barbie”

  1. I think it’s very interesting, I’ve been following the story since they started raising funds for it and I’m still not sure what I think. I don’t know if Barbie had a negative impact on my body image or not. She very well could have but I also couldn’t imagine my childhood without my mom’s old Barbie Dream House or getting the holiday Barbie every year (until I decided I liked Hess Trucks better). To me it’s so foreign but I’m sure for kids today this will be the new Barbie and taboos like cellulite and stretch marks will become more acceptable which I think is absolutely fantastic.

    1. I know what you mean. My childhood would have been drastically different without Barbie. I loved her and I still do. I don’t think this Lammily doll will unseat Barbie, or if she does, it won’t be for years.

      I’m not so sure Barbie particularly had any influence on my body image, but at the same time, I never really realized how impossible her body type was until a few years ago. If I had a child now (which thank goodness I don’t-I am way too young for that), I think I would still buy her Barbies. I would just be sure to also get her other toys and make sure she knew that she was never going to look like Barbie.

      I like Lammily and I’ve heard that they are going to make other body types as well, which is super cool. I’m really curious to see what happens with this doll and how people react to it as it becomes more popular.

      1. It is very interesting and it will be interesting to see where it goes in the future. I think it has a lot of potential it’s just a matter of time to see if people will give up the familiar for something different.

Leave a Reply

