A Little Princess

Click image for source.

Frances Hodgson Burnett’s A Little Princess is a Cinderella tale of the young Sara Crewe who is left at a London boarding school after having lived with her captain-father in India for her entire life. We share in the lows and highs of her time in London. I want so much to say what happens in the novel, but I won’t so that I don’t spoil it for anyone.

I was really excited to read this novel for my class because the 1995 movie adaptation of it was one of my favorite films as a child. I never did read the book until now as I wasn’t a big reader when I was younger. Anyways, I was so excited to read this book that I actually read it ahead of time so that I could start my paper on it.

I really liked this novel. It was an easy read (it is children’s lit, so it should be easy for me), and an interesting retelling of a classic tale. Sara is a very happy little girl despite her circumstances and is always polite no matter how people treat her.

Having now read the book, I re-watched the movie, and boy oh boy was it different! So much is changed from the book-like the time period of the story itself. Personally, after finally reading the book, I didn’t really like the movie. It was a bit more boring than I remember it being as a child.

Any who, the book was good. It doesn’t fill me with evangelical zeal and I don’t necessarily think anyone would be missing out on anything if they didn’t read it, but it was indeed enjoyable.

As per usual, I’m actually pretty behind on my book reviews, which is leading me to be unhappy with the lack of detail I put in them, but oh well. Life’s busy and I can’t always keep up with everything like I would like to.

2 thoughts on “A Little Princess

  1. bevchen November 25, 2014 / 8:17 pm

    I haven’t read this book but I keep meaning too. I used to love the film. Also, Frances Hodgeson-Burnett wrote The Secret Garden, which was one of my childhood favourites – another good reason to give this book a go!

    • Katie November 25, 2014 / 9:06 pm

      I haven’t read The Secret Garden yet. I’m curious to pick it up not that I’ve read A Little Princess.
      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

