Mockingjay Part 1

Click image for source.

The night before last, I went to the premier of Mockingjay Part 1. To be honest, I wasn’t too excited for it. Mockingjay was my least favorite book out of the trilogy. Now, as I share my thoughts on the movie, keep in mind that it has been years since I’ve read the book, so I can’t really comment on just how accurate the movie was in comparison to the novel. So I mentioned that I wasn’t too excited for the premier of Mockingjay, but I must say that the film very much exceeded my expectations. In fact, I might go so far as to say it was my favorite movie out of the series. It was just so well done. The costuming was on point. The action was played up more than it was in the first half of the book (we actually see events that Katniss only hears about in the book).

I do wish that they had focused a bit more on Finnick. I personally think his backstory is fascinating and I love Annie, so I wanted to see more of them. It would have been great to see more of life in District 13 as well so that those who hadn’t read the books could understand things a bit better.

But overall, I thought this movie was amazing. If you can get over the fact that it is not exactly like the book (which you have to do for any movie adaptation of a book), than you will realize that this is a great interpretation of Mockingjay.

Basically-GO SEE IT!

*also-the trailer for Cinderella played before the movie, and oh my, I want to see it NOW!*

Leave a Reply

