Posted in Books

The Dew Breaker

Click image for source.

The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat is a collection of short stories focused on displaced Haitians. All of these people seem to have some sort of connection to this ‘dew breaker’ or torturer from the Haitian dictatorship. Each story could be read alone, but almost all of the minor characters in one story end up being the protagonist in another later on. It gave the collection the feel of a novel even though it wasn’t one. I know I haven’t been all that positive about the books I’ve been reading lately, which is why I am happy to report that I really enjoyed this collection. I loved piecing together all of the characters like a puzzle and figuring out how they were all related. I was also pleasantly surprised that a short story cycle was able to give me a sense of finality for the collection as a whole in the way that not even some novels give me.

I think my favorite story from the collection was Night Talkers. I don’t know if I could exactly explain why. I also really like The Bridal Seamstress. Now that I’m thinking about it, The Book of the Dead and The Book of Miracles were really good as well. Ya know what? Just read the whole thing, and you’ll see what I mean.

Considering I did like this collection and that I would recommend it, I don’t have much to say on it because I am so behind on my book reviews. I need to learn to do them right after I finish the book when everything is still fresh in my mind. Oh well. We live and we learn.

Leave a Reply

