Lucy

Click image for source.

The story of Lucy is that of a fairly young girl (like late teens) that moves from the West Indies to New York to work as an au pair. During this novel, my class talked a lot about sensuality and the difficulty of living as an immigrant in a new culture so different from your native one. As far as critical terms went, we mainly discussed primitivism.

On a personal level, I found it hard to relate to Lucy. Her morals and manner of being are very different from mine, but that isn’t normally a deterrent for me. What really got me was the way her emotions worked. Really I should say lack of emotions. She really seemed to show no feeling whatsoever except for when she expressed anger or frustration. This is very difficult for me to understand because I am an incredibly open person. Pretty much the first time I meet anyone, I would be willing to tell them my entire life story. I’m not saying I expect every person and every character to match me emotionally, but one of the things I enjoy most about reading is connecting to characters and stories. I feel emotions are one of the best ways to do so, so when I have a difficult time understanding the emotions of a character, I struggle to enjoy them.

I don’t know, I didn’t love Lucy, but I didn’t dislike it either. I don’t think it helped that I was a little under the weather while going through the novel. Because I didn’t have a strong opinion either positively or negatively, I don’t really have much to say about the novel.

Yeah. Life’s busy, and I’ve gotten behind on book reviews, so I know this isn’t very detailed. If you bring something up about this book, I’d love to discuss it with you, but I just can’t come up with anything off the top of my head. Soi hit me up in the comments below if you have any thoughts about Lucy.

Leave a Reply

