Posted in Books

Great Expectations

Click image for source.

Charles Dickens’s Great Expectations-a beloved classic Victorian bildungsroman novel about a young orphan named Pip who comes into some pretty great expectations (hence the name) from a mysterious and anonymous benefactor. What did I think about this famous tale? Well let me tell you…

I honestly can’t think of anything that I liked from this novel. I didn’t really like Pip. There weren’t really any strong female characters (unless you count Biddy, but she had such a minor part). The plot itself wasn’t that interesting. The list goes on.

To be perfectly honest, I got kind of fed up with reading Great Expectations and ended up quiting about two-thirds of the way through. The rest I sparknoted. I know, I know, I’m a terrible almost-English major. I hate just giving up on books, but I just had to read this so quickly in the midst of midterm season and I couldn’t make myself care at all.

I hate book-bashing, but I was just not a fan of Dickens’s novel. I feel like I may appreciate it more if I pick it up again in a few years and don’t have to read it as quickly as I did this time around.

Leave a Reply

