Wide Sargasso Sea

Click image for source.

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys is basically the tale of Bertha from Jane Eyre, which I happened to read a few weeks ago in my Victorian Literature class. Taking a Vic Lit class and a Postcolonial Literature class at the same time is really interesting because the two really play on each other as colonialism was at its height in the Victorian era.

This was the first book my class read that takes place in the Caribbean instead of Africa. We talked a bit about obeah and about women. We discussed the idea of being homeless in the sense of being of two places and therefore not belonging to either: i.e. being white and of european descent in the caribbean, but not really being fully English.

Anyways, I was sick while I read Wide Sargasso Sea, so I really couldn’t tell you much about it. I finished it, but that’s about it. I honestly don’t have strong opinions about it either way as I was simply trying to get through it so I could sleep without feeling too bad about not doing my homework and allowing my bad cold to be an excuse to let my responsibilities dwindle. I do think it’s very interesting to read about the “villain” of Jane Eyre especially so close after reading it, and would therefore recommend it to any who have read and enjoyed Jane Eyre.

*I know this isn’t a great post, but I didn’t want to skip it either. I hope my next reviews are better.*

Leave a Reply

