Alice in Wonderland

Click image for source.

Believe it or not, I have never seen nor read Alice in Wonderland. So I was pretty excited to read it for my Victorian Literature class. Now most are familiar with this tale-A young girl follows a white rabbit down a rabbit hole and finds herself in a fantastical wonderland where all that is seen as logical is now illogical and vice versa-but I was not. So here’s what I thought about Wonderland…

I enjoyed this light and comical read. It was quick and easy, yet also brought up legitimate points about what it means to be a child and what a child’s education and life should look like. There were several quotes that I simply adored, but I think I’ll just go over one. So Alice is walking around wonderland and runs into the Chesire Cat. Here’s just a snippet of their interaction-

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where–” said Alice.

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

“–so long as I get somewhere,” Alice added as an explanation.

Anywho, I really enjoyed this little transaction. I think it’s because I don’t know what my future holds for me (and really, who does?). This quote kind of reminds me that since I don’t know where I will end up, there isn’t a specific way I have to go or a specific formula I need to follow in my time at college. My journey will look different from everyone elses because we will all end up at different destinations, which means that my way of doing college is neither right nor wrong, it is simply my own. In general, the Cheshire Cat was one of my favorite characters.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. Every now and again, Alice would get on my nerves, but I feel like that was only because of the fact that Alice is a child. Her reactions to certain events were therefore immature and annoying, but if I’m going to be honest with myself, its probably how I would want to behave if I were in Alice’s shoes (which are probably Mary Janes).

In short, I would recommend this story and will probably read it to my children should I ever have some.

What are your thoughts on Alice and Wonderland? Did you read this book as a child? Really, just share your whatever you feel like in the comments below, because I adore having conversations with people and learning their insights into the world.

 

*Also-I hope to read Through the Looking Glass  as well, but it all depends on how much time I have.

Leave a Reply

