A Very Potter Reread: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets has always been my least favorite installment of the Harry Potter series. [Keep in mind, that’s least favorite of a series I adore. Perspective is important.] After rereading it, I believe my slightly negative feelings towards Harry’s second year at Hogwarts was rather unwarranted. Like the Sorcerer’s Stone, I watched the movie before reading the books, because at the time of it’s premiere, I wasn’t much into reading yet. The voice of the basilisk freaked me out and don’t get me started on the spiders. Yeesh. 

Anyways, now that I am older, have read the book several times, and seen the movies more times than I know, I have started to come around the the Chamber of Secrets. There really are a lot of important things that we learn.

Like the Dursleys. Oh my gosh. Everyone knows they are the worst sort of muggles, but man, I forgot how bad they were. Their behavior towards Harry is deplorable. It’s so much worse than the movies. They legit starved him. Locked him in his room. Put bars on the windows. Come on! Where were the muggle authorities. Why wasn’t this stopped?

As always, we get to learn more about the wizarding world. Really it’s the mundane things that make love a book. This world has its own rules and customs, and I adore seeing as much of the everyday wizarding world as possible. Floo powder? Deathday parties? Dueling? Sign me up!

Ginny. We see more of her. I like it, even if she is being controlled by the Dark Lord.

And did I mention the Dark Lord? Some fairly juicy little tidbits about him are revealed in this instalment. He used to be a Hogwarts student you say? Head boy? A half-blood? The heir of Slytherin? His real name is Tom Marvolo Riddle? Fascinating.

So while the Chamber of Secrets may still not be my favorite Harry Potter book/movie, rereading has given me a new appreciation for Harry Potter’s second year at Hogwarts. [But if you ask me, a lot of trouble could have been avoided had Ron, Harry, and Hermione simply told Dumbledore or McGonagall what they knew or suspected, but whatever. Kids make mistakes.]

Come at me Prisoner of Azkaban!

Leave a Reply

