Reading Roundup: Attachments, Austenland, & Sense and Sensibility

I have been a terrible almost-English major this summer in that I have hardly read at all. Seriously, I just can’t get into anything. I have also been a terrible blogger in that I haven’t written more than a few posts on my new blog. But such is life, so here is a brief roundup of the last few books I did make my way through. 

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

I read this little gem directly after reading one of Rowell’s other novels, FangirlI must say, I was surprised at how much I did enjoy this novel. Generally speaking, I tend to have difficulty maintaining interest in characters that are considerably older than me, but I loved Lincoln (and his name-I’m a sucker for name’s I don’t hear everyday). And while there was so much that I did enjoy about this love story, I wasn’t thrilled about the end. It wasn’t the outcome itself, but how rushed it all seemed to me.The rate at which the closing events took place were too fast to be believable or enjoyable.

Overall-Yeah I would recommend it, but I would say Fangirl was much better.

 

Austenland by Shannon Hale

 

 My first introduction to this book was actually through the movie of the same title. The movie I found to be absolutely hilarious. Because of this, I just knew the book had to be so much better, but in all actuality, I was left a bit underwhelmed upon completing this novel. While there were aspects of the novel that I preferred to the movie version, I must say that as an overall experience, I found the movie to much more enjoyable than the book. (A crime, I know) I should probably go into more detail as to why, but as it has now been a while since I have read the book, and even longer since I have seen the movie, I don’t feel like it would be fair.

The gist-It was a nice, light little read, but I felt it lacked something.

 

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

 

As a BIG Pride and Prejudice fan, I found it only natural that I should continue reading Jane Austen. After devouring Pride and Prejudice, I went on to Northanger Abbey, which was..okay…, started Emma, which I could not find any motivation in me whatsoever to finish, and have decided to try again with Sense and Sensibility. I have been told by a friend  S&S is a much better love story than P&P, so I have high hopes though I have yet to finish this work. Honestly I’ve had a bit of difficulty getting into it, but this was true of P&P as well, which ended up becoming one of my favorite books. The lack of interest may also have something to do with the fact that I have been reading only a little here and there, not binge-reading the whole thing like I normally would. Other than that, I will refrain my opinions on the novel until I have completed it.

 

Well, now I am technically caught up with the blogging aspect of my summer. Now to just get back to the reading I had intended to do…

3 thoughts on “Reading Roundup: Attachments, Austenland, & Sense and Sensibility

  1. Writesy July 17, 2014 / 6:30 pm

    I’ve always wanted to read more classics, so think I’ll read Sense and Sensibility. Attachments is also on my TBR list, what with enjoying Eleanor and Park—and hoping to enjoy Landline, too. Great reviews!

    • kamahi July 17, 2014 / 6:42 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked my reviews. I haven’t read Eleanor and Park yet, but I only hear good things.

Leave a Reply

